IELTS Writing - People Never Understand the Culture of A Country unless They Speak the Language

Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language.

Do you agree with this opinion?

cross-cultural understanding

A number of societies opine that people are not able to acquire and adapt a specific culture without learning its language. I personally would argue that this is a positive development.

To begin, the best measure to study other national culture is imitating the way of the native speaks. Individuals tend to practice more by repeating what the other speakers produce from their mouth. A good example of this is the process how kids acquiring language. Children are never be taught a language such as their mother tongue or first language, but they are able to speak their mother tongue/L1 well during they grow up. It is because they always listen and the language to surroundings. As the result, youngsters get used to speak that language. There is no doubt that it is referred that learning about culture is speaking about its language.

Another reason is by understanding the language; inhabitants can learn one's culture independently. Although there is no a guide to accompany us visiting one county side aimed at knowing its tradition, we are able to communicate and experience this culture by ourselves because we have master the language. A case in point, nowadays most of tourists from abroad in Indonesia do not need a translator to research a local relic because they have learnt Indonesian language before coming at there. Thus, language is one important factor in order to recognize a specific culture.

To conclude, it is clear to me that cross-cultural understandings become easy to learn if the followers start initially to speak the local language.