Some people use the Internet to search for solutions to their medical problems, is this +ve/-ve ?

Some people use the Internet to search for solutions to their medical problems. Is it a positive or negative development?

Give your own opinion and examples from your experience.

When suffering from health issues, many people tend to explore on the Internet for possible solutions. However, personally I believe seeking for formal medical advices should be the correct act to do instead.

On the one hand, due to the tremendous amount of free information available in the digital world, many people can now search online for suitable treatments according to the symptoms they are suffering. In some series cases it might be feasible as certain useful solutions can always be found. For example, putting a cold towel on forehead can help in case of fever to certain extent. Some people, therefore, tend to believe Internet information, as long as it is not a medicine intake to the body, can help lessen their symptoms to certain extent.

On the other hand, however, some argue that surfing online for medical advice is very risky because it is inevitable that there would be misleading information in the virtual database. And more importantly, the majority is lack of professional knowledge to decide whether the information is correct or not. Also, if it leads to potential delay in receiving formal treatment, patients might be at risk and resulting in worse long-term consequences to their bodies. So more people agree that online information should not be trusted as official medical advices.

In conclusion, searching for health solutions on the web is not appropriated because there is always fake information online and general public does not equip with the professional knowledge to judge. It is better for patients to seek formal advice from qualified medical staffs to ensure they receive the most suitable treatments.