Ielts writing task 2-permit students to freely choose any subject

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both this view and give your own opinion.

Select your field of study

There is an increasingly growing popular idea that university should have permitted students to take part in any courses they want. There are others who carry the opinion that students must follow every class required at school. Both sides have, of course, their own merits, but I think the first view is more reasonable and this essay aims to prove my claim.

I'd like to start by saying that students can be more active if they have their freedom to choose favorite subjects. It is necessary because learners can try many courses that conformable to their wishes. Thus, they will definitely find out the weak or strong points and so on, they easily choose the subject as their major. Moreover, allowing students to study subject they like will encourage them to be more hard-working. I believe that the self-choice is obviously our own passions and of course, people will pay more attention and try improving as best as they can prepare well for future goals.

On the other hand, some colleges force students to learn subjects that is are important to society. In short, the professors suggest everyone to have a basic knowledge in order to seek a job without difficulty. For instance, to become a tour guide requires us not only to have a good grounding on history, geography but also speak fluently- which we achieve from learning Literature. Unfortunately, some students can not recognize its benefit, and feel obligated to study things that are not interested in and put them under pressure and stress.

Learning whatever we like enables us to orientate future ourselves. After discussing all the points mentioned above, I can finally conclude that university should allow all the students to choose any subject they like because of better motivation for studying.