A person's health is their own responsibility rather than the government's responsibility.

The essay tries to delineate the opinion above

The responsibilty to stay healthy

Many people believe that each individual is responsible for his or her own well-being and the governments play no role in this matter. However, while this opinion is correct to some extent, there is still some flaws in it and this essay will try to shed some light on it.

First of all, it is undeniable that the major responsibility lies in the hands of the residents since health is greatly influence by every day activities. It depends on the diet and work-life habits of each person, which are entirely under the autonomy of each individual. Secondly, governments are incapable of interfering or preventing bad habits, as long as they do not violate the law. For example, if a person decides to work overtime and continuously skip meals, government has no power to stop he or she to engage in such toxic behaviour since it does not breach any regulations.

On the other hand, human beings can be affected by their surrounding and living standards. Some negative factors of the overall society can badly influence health. These elements can hardly be changed by the effort of a single citizen and wiil require serious measures from the authorities to deal with them. Some evident instances can be pointed out are air pollution and the quality of the healthcare system. The former is quite common in urban cities, where dwellers suffer from various respiratory diseases due to the fumes and exhaustion from cars and industrial activities. As for the case of medical services, getting access to better healthcare system may help people get vaccinated and be immune to numerous diseases, or they can receive the right treatments once they need it and quickly recover.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the appointed perspective. The responsibilty to stay healthy belongs to both the people and their government. Hence, there should be efforts from both sides to maintain the well-being of the overall society.