IELTS TASK 2: What are the perspectives for study abroad?

advantages and disadvantages of study in a foreign country

In recent decades, studying overseas has become a growing trend for many reasons. Although the trend gives students life-transforming opportunities, there still exist many limitations.

On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of studying overseas. First, living in a new country could allow students to explore new cultures. They can experience exotic foods, customs and atmospheres, which helps them to have a better understanding and appreciation of the nation's people and history. Second, studying overseas gives international students more career opportunities after finishing their study program. They return to their country with language skills and a great education, which is very attractive to employers.

On the other hand, studying overseas is not without downsides. First, although international students could contact their family and friends by using video chat applications such as facetime and skype, they do experience loneliness at some stage. For example, there are always occasions when international students miss their family, especially during holidays such as Christmas and New year, as these are seasons of spending time with family and of sharing, caring and giving. Second, fees and living costs are popular financial troubles students have to cope with. The expenses of studying abroad tend to be higher than studying locally, and even if students budget well, they can run out of money.

In conclusion, given the clear advantages studying overseas have, there are still disadvantages. Students should deliberate carefully the pros and cons of both sides before making the decision of whether or not they should study in a foreign country.