IELTS TASK 2: Physical strength and mental strength. Which is more important for success in sports?

factors important for success in sport

Question: Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views in which is more important for sport players to succeed in sports. In my opinion, both mental stamina and physical fitness are equally important.

On the one hand, it can be argued that the characteristic which can help sport performers win the competition mainly is endurance. Many sport games require physical strength such as football or weight lifting. For example, in a football match, to compete with the rivals from the beginning to the end, football players have to be enduring and flexible. If they are in weak physical condition, they may not undertake either severe trainings or adversity.

On the other hand, some people believe that strong will is the key factor which leads to success in sports. With strong mental health, sports players could easily overcome fears, pressure and difficulties in their career. Take Anh Vien swimmer as a telling example, she is the first women who won many gold medals in SEA GAMES for her nation. Despite being young, she still gets over many ups and downs and remains a never-give-up spirit whenever she goes through strict trainings. In contrast, many sport players are mentally weak when confronting stressful situations or compete with those who are better than him or her. As a result, failure would easily come to their ways.

In conclusion, it seems to me that a successful sport player should have both physical and mental strength so that they would be able to shine at their career.