Physically hitting students in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

IELTS TASK 2 : CORPORAL PUNISHMENT

The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Physical discipline in schools is considered to be controversial since educational environment has a notable impact on students. While corporal punishment is gradually restricted, some people hold the view that it should be applied increasingly in schools with the purpose of modifying students' bad attitudes. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this point of view.

Frist of all, it is worth pointing out there is overwhelming evidence that violent discipline adversely influences students. Undoubtedly, corporal punishment towards youngsters causes not only physical harm but also mental disorders in the long term. As a matter of fact, corporal punishment might become an obsession of many students over a long period of time. Moreover, reality shows that young people experiencing kinds of extreme punishment including harsh spanking and slapping in their teenage years tend to behave more aggressively in the first stages of adulthood compared to the others.

Apart from some concerns expressed above, another drawback of physical punishment is that it appears to be inefficient in the name of discipline. When teachers hit their students to punish them, it is concerning that students tend to learn to behave as a way to protect themselves from harsh punishments, but they show no signs of internalization of changing their manners. It is widely believed that the main purpose of education is instructing students to behave reasonably by pointing out that their bad behaviors should be avoided and encouraging them to make positive modifications.

In conclusion, I suspect that applying corporal punishment in schools is apparently disadvantageous to students and should be completely prohibited.