Ielts: In some places, teenagers are motivated to get part-time jobs while they are still in school

part-time job for teenagers

Topic:In some places, teenagers are encouraged to get part-time jobs while they are still in school.

Do the advantages of teenagers working outweigh the disadvantages?

I am going to take the ielts exam at the end of this month.So I really want you to help me correct this essay.Thanks in advance.

Here is my essay:

It is true that these days more part-time jobs are stimulated for adolescents to pick up while they are still in school in many places. Despite some obvious advantages of this issue, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two major benefits when teenagers take a part-time work. Firstly, starting to work at a young age prepares children more adequately for adult life. It teaches them how to react and behave in situations they would not encounter at home or at school. For example, many teenagers with a part-time job can easily adapt to life compare to the others. Secondly, children often have to work part-time to help their parents make end meet which also makes them appreciate the value of hard work and money.

On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks are more than such advantages. One reason for this view is that children could not possibly do a job with school duties and extracurricular activities. If teenagers have to work part-time, their study could not be totally concentrated which leads to a poor academic result later. Besides, having to work and go to school at the same time would greatly reduce the amount of time children can spend with their parents or their friends. Another reason is that adolescents are vulnerable and can be easily exploited by employers. In some developing countries, children do manual labour under terrible conditions that can be a severe problem to their health.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of part-time job for teenagers are more significant the the advantages.