Players and supporters in particular, should be supportive and responsible for the sporting events

International sporting events such as the Olympic Games and the Football World Cup provide an outlet for patriotic feelings, and help reduce international tensions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Answer:

In recent years, lots of international sporting events have been organised by international organisation in order to raise patriotic feelings and to reduce international tensions. While I agree that the events have essential purposes, I firmly argue that it can influence the audiences who watch the events.

International sporting events are important as they can build better relationship amongst countries. South Korea and North Korea, for example, were in a football competition (World Cup) - they had been in conflict for years - and they showed to the world that they have become friendly each other. All in all, World Cup has been successful to reduce international tensions.

Apart from those tangible benefits, while a few countries, particularly players, have been in a friendship, international sporting events sometimes raise conflict from supporters when their favorite team is lost. For example, some Indonesian supporters protest when Indonesian football team could not win in Asean Games. As a result, this condition will increase their tensions. To sum up, the events do not always provide positive effects in this planet, but sometimes cause dire effects.

In conclusion, it is evident that although international sporting events can give an outlet for patriotic feelings and attempt to reduce international tensions, they also probably result in dire effects such as raise international conflicts due to the supporter. It is imperative that all people, players and supporters in particular, should be supportive and responsible to the events.