Plenty of authorities in the world consider economic progress is their first priority. IELTS2

Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Economic progress as the most important goal

Nowadays, plenty of authorities in the world consider economic progress is their first priority, while some people believe that different kinds of progress also play an important role in nations' development. In my opinion, developing the economy is necessary, but other progress are equally significant.

It is undeniable that economic development brings many benefits to a country. Firstly, it brings more job opportunities and deal with one of the most serious problems in many nations: unemployment. Higher salaries in a good economy also results in higher living standards and better quality of life. Secondly, the governments are able to invest more in transport system, healthcare and education, Money from rising taxes can be used to purchase more high-tech equipment and beds for hospitals or provide more valuable scholarships for students. Finally, a developed country with a strong economy may hold a high position in the world and have more influence over developing countries.

However, various kinds of progress need to be considered as well. The governments need to achieve political stability to prevent terrorism as well as create a safe and secure environment for inhabitants and foreign companies. Also, in modern times, human rights and equality are absolutely necessary to make residents feel protected, satisfied and motivated to work. Another long-term goal is to protect the environment, which is often destroyed in the economic progress. For example, there should be a limit for releasing exhausted fume from large factories, which contributes to global warming and ozone depletion.

In conclusion, the authorities need to focus on not only economic development but also political stability, human rights and environmental protection.