Essay on poem: "The Possibilities of Invention"

Hey there, I would really appreciate it someone can edit this and provide me with some feedback.

It's on this poem:

The Possibilities of Invention

My first pair of glasses were pink plastic frosted frames.

I wore them bravely throughout seventh grade

until i got braces.

Then I switched to metal--small oval granny rims

that clashed with the Mexican silver neck rings

I would around my neck.

I seemed to need the armor,

a girl with good eyes but poor vision,

I could see what others couldn't:

the treachery of cheerleaders

rallying the masses to their cause,

the popular elections rigged

by petty dictators who demanded

conformity even from the lowliest worm burrowed in books.

A correctable situation.

Nothing terminal.

The optometrist pronounced

when the big letter E got swallowed

into the white wall of his office

and the optometrist himself,

in a blizzard of light,

loomed like the Abominable Snowman

and I couldn't see my own ten fingers

stretched out in front of me.

Near-sighted, I wanted to see far,

beyond the static chatter

cluttering my view.

But distance was destroyed

without the curved aid of glass

ground and measured to guide in

the correct path of light.

A path framed in frosted pink plastic

I was prescribed to follow.

I preferred the whirling blur

of the nearly blind--

was it legal?--

the stunning dizziness I achieved

when I lost the clear evidence of things material

to edges that merged and gave off

dangerous smoke: the possibilities of invention.

Shapes shifted so that the familiar

opened bright holes that let in all the light.

Rivalry between forms diminished.

Clouds revealed their identity

only when I chose to touch them

or reluctantly put on my glasses--

when burnished liquor of fur became wood,

a table and chair;

when a column of chilled air

became glass, a common vase;

when the phenomenon in the mirror

yielded disappointment--

my own stunning unspectacular face.

-Cathy Song

Phew, long poem, here is my response/essay:

It's more like a literary paragraph.

Truth of the Naked Eye

"The Possibilities of Invention," by Cathy Song uses symbolism to develop the characteristics of the speaker, as well as her conflict. First, the speaker states that her "first pair of glasses were pink plastic frosted frames," (1) which symbolize the truth that she scrutinizes her life. It also connotes childhood as it's "cute." Second, the speaker switches to "small oval granny rims" (7), undergoing a transformation, she seemed to "need the armor." (7) Metaphorically speaking, the armor gives the speaker a broader and a deeper perspective, allowing her to see things above, and beyond the sight of others such as when she can see "the treachery of cheerleaders." (10) Finally, her desire to "see far" (25) is an internal conflict that symbolizes obstacles and is fighting with herself. The theme is that sometimes the truth cannot be seen by the naked eye but only by the ________________ (I have no idea how to finish that; help?) Evidence here. Another theme is that "obstacles are another way of motivating you and accomplishing what you want even more. As the speaker struggles with herself, the obstacle she encounters gives her more courage to accomplish the thing she wants-which is her desire to see. In conclusion, the "Possibilities of Invention," by Cathy Song uses symbolism to develop the characteristics of the speaker as well as her conflict.