"Pohela Falgun" - The custom of my country that I like most and will encourage to follow TOEFL essay

This is the most devilish toefl essay prompt that I have encountered ever. Even I had to modify my essay structure to write this. The problem I faced here is, there is no suitable supporting materials to support my claim. My country has many customs that I love to share, however, i could not find good supporting detail to write a good body paras for any of them. It is hard when you have to write an essay in a time constrain manner and you could not find any supporting material to support your essay in your brainstorming session. anyway here it is. feel free to comment and give me some advice how to tackle this kind of unusual questions.

Question: Describe a custom from your country that you would like people from other countries to adopt. Explain your choice, using specific reasons and examples.

Answer:

Different countries have different customs and traditions. On the same note, my country also has some customs. The custom of my country that I like most and will encourage people from other countries to adopt is celebrating "Pohela Falgun". "Pohela Falgun" is the 1st day of the Falgun month- a month of Bangla calendar. There are several reasons why I encourage people of different countries to follow this particular custom, however, I will discuss about two here.

First reason is, this custom is very colorful. We celebrate "Pohela Falgun" on February 13th -according to Gregorian calendar, therefore, the weather is really good. At the time of the year, in February, trees have passed the harsh winter and spring just arrived. Therefore, most of the trees have new green leaves and flowers. As a result, nature itself looks more fresh and colorful. Moreover, on that particular day, people of my country take a festive look. Girls wear green 'Shari'- traditional dress for girl's of my country. They also use flowers to ornate themselves. On the other hand, boys wear green or yellow 'Panjabi'- a popular man's wear of my country. Boys and girls of different ages hang out with their friends. Moreover, some cultural organizations arrange cultural programs around the city as well as in village. As this is so colorful, therefore, i like to expand this culture to different people of different countries.

Another reason is that, this is a special day for us. We spend this day with our family and friends. For instance, this year I celebrated the "Pohela Falgun" with my friends. We all wore the traditional dress and at the morning, we went to the "rabindra sarbar" where cultural program was arranged by a leading cultural organization name "kristi". We enjoyed their performance so much. After the cultural program had ended, we took some photos of our own. When the photo session was over, we went to a nearby restaurant and took traditional food. As you can see, I had lots of fun with my friends on this day.

In sum, as "Pohela Falgun" is colorful and a fun day to spend with friends, therefore, I believe it will be a good addition to the people of different countries.