ielts - pointless to keep traditional skills alive ?

When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is certainly irrefutable that today there has been numerous advancements in technology. This includes progress in agriculture, infrastructure, research and a host of other essential sectors. Undeniably, these not only have changed us but also have benefited us tremendously in many ways. Indeed, our lifestyles these days are different from that of our ancestors. Therefore, some feel that, as the technology of a country develops, there is no point practising the traditional skills. However, I agree to this statement only to a certain extent as I shall discuss the reasons below.

First and foremost, there are some skills that we can neglect at this modern age. To illustrate this further, today there is an equipment called sewing machine. Hence, what is the point of continue using the traditional way of sewing clothes when there is an easier and a more convenient choice? Besides that, sewing is definitely less time consuming with a sewing machine. Apart of that, I am sure that other equipment such as blender, fan, and an array of other electrical items has indeed made human life seem comfortable.

Looking from the other perspective, it would be wrong to completely deny the importance of traditional skills and ways of life in our everyday life. In my opinion, certain aspects are worth practising. To cite an example, a day prior to Chinese New Year, family members will meet to have dinner together. This momentous event is surely essential as it strengthens the bonds among the family. Small activities like this must be preserved and passed on to our future generations so that they realize the richness of our culture.

From my perspective, it is pivotal that we have a balance between the use of the technology and traditional methods. Ways of life practised by our forefathers that are advantageous to us should be kept alive. On the other hand, if they are not that advantageous and consumes a lot of time and energy, then it is certainly better to switch to the tools that make our life trouble-free. A successful person in my opinion is an individual who knows the ways to suit himself according to the situation.

To conclude, traditional skills can be beneficial at times. It is inappropriate to say that they should be forgotten just because we have new and modern technologies emerging every day. Thus, let us keep put into practice both relevant traditional skills and ways of life and also at the same time take advantage of the technology available.