A policy to raise the price of petrol to solve congestion and emission problems

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

One of the best solution to solve congestion and emission problems is by making a policy to raise the price of petrol. This essay is agree with such an initiative view because increasing the price of petrol will make people rarely to use private car and moved to public transportation so that the traffic and pollution will reduce significantly. Other measures which might be effective are making economist public transportation and carpooling.

Raising the price of petrol will solve the congestion and pollution problems because it is too expensive to purchase petrol. More inhabitants will prefer to use public transportation then the pollution will reduce. In my own experience, when government increase the price of petrol in 2013, I used motorcycle to go to the places i need to go. Although it is uncomfortable and i feel cold when it rains but I still prefer to use it due to its cheaper price. Despite this, many inhabitants still use petrol although it is expensive because it is more comfortable to use private cars.

Alternatively, government can built public transportation in which have lower price and poor people can afford it. Right now, many citizen are using train to commute to work. Government can use such condition to reduce the price of train ticket so more people will use train. They also can make a policy to do carpool. This policy is succeed in California, many people are doing carpool in order to reduce number of traffic and pollution. After the carpool is held the number of congestion is reduce gradually and the amount of pollution also declined slightly.

In conclusion, by increasing the price of petrol, making a cheaper public transportation, and carpooling can help government to reduce the number of congestion and pollution problems which is caused by private cars.