IELTS--politicians and scientists, who are more important to the society

Some people say politicians promote the development of society. However others believe that it is scientists who have more influence on the world.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

If the society can be compared as a piece of artwork, then the politicians are the craftsmen who measure the size of the art and frame it into the best condition to display its delicacy, while the scientists are the artists who draw on the blank and decorate with colors. Technically, it is hard to conclude that whose influence overtakes the other when both of them are so indispensable to the society.

Politicians, who are elected by citizens to represent their wills to manage their countries, devote their energies to enforce the regulations to maintain the social harmony and make decisions that can affect the national ups and downs in the future. Primarily, their interactions with other national leaders in the international affairs can determine the relationship between countries and the global cooperation. Meanwhile, their political proposals of tax and health insurance can influence the national economic development. Moreover, their personal charming in the pubic speeches can inspire millions of people to work the best of them and return to the society.

Although the scientists, whose space is narrowed to laboratories and academic journals by normal people superficially, might not be renowned as public celebrities as politicians, their jobs mark every milestone in human history. Without their endeavor in exploration and experiments, we are still the chimpanzees who use the wood to light a fire and walk with four limbs on the ground. The inventions like computers, televisions and airplanes drive us into better living standards with the technological fuels to accelerate the speed, which can never be achieved by the politicians.

In conclusion, both politicians and scientists are crucial in the development of society; the world can only thrives in both the guidance of politicians and the contributions of scientists.