The Politics, Identity, and Togetherness: Elif Shafak (TED Summary)

The human was created dissimilarly to appreciate, understand and help each other. The disparity of nationality should not make people despise each other. On account of the difference of nations is the power if they can be united.

It was the substance from the Elif Shafak in TED Talk in 2010. This Turkish novelist informed how her childhood experiences helped her to be able to write a fiction well. In the midst of loneliness of her childhood, the spirit of writing was honed.

He then studied at an international school in Madrid, where she was the only Turkish. In their class, there were students from various of nationalities. Unfortunately, the diversity did not always support the creation of a democratic and egalitarian class. Whenever there was something negative befall a nation or a religion, student who became representatives of the country immediately ridiculed, mocked and mocked continuously. She knew this, because when studying there, a military coup had happened in Turkey and a citizen nearly killed Pope by fire a gun.

And finally, Shafak told the story of the Dervishes building a circle outside the circle. They connect all humanity, regardless of identity politics. And she finished the presentation with an old Sufi poem: "Come, let us be friends for once; let us make life easy on us; let us be lovers and loved ones; the earth shall be left to no one."