Is pollution a concern of the government, the society or the individual?

Hi, I'm sitting for my last final exam on the 25th of November, if I pass I'll be a teacher of English, so please!! I need your help to check some of my essay practice to see how I'm doing. It's a 500 word argumentative essay.

Thank you so much!!

Pollution. Everybody's problem. Everybody's responsibility.

The industrial revolution together with advances in technology and man's constant effort to improve the standard of living have led to the overuse and misuse of natural resources , resulting mainly in pollution. Contamination is caused by the introduction of contaminants in water basins, open spaces or the air, and it affects people's lives in various outstanding ways, such as provoking illnesses, so it is a problem which should be treated different levels of human organization because if each person, as a citizen of the world, contributes to the improvement of contamination levels, this issue may be more efficiently tackled.

Pollution is the result of human activity, and the biggest contributors to water and air contamination are industries. Often, governments protect and promote industrial activity in order to create employment and foster economic growth but they sometimes fail in controlling whether they make appropriate disposal of their wastes. The government has the rights and the power to pass laws that regulate industries and punish those who do not comply with them, since it is the government who is responsible for seeking the welfare of all the members of a nation. On the whole, the most effective way of controlling industrial waste is for the government to take action against those industries which dump their untreated wastes into water fountains, air or ground.

Contamination is everybody's problem, we all suffer its consequences and we are all prompt to the diseases caused by it, so the whole society should do our share in the control of pollution and the inappropriate use of resources. In the past three years Bahia Blanca and its surrounding cities have been suffering from water shortage. The local government played its part in promoting conservation strategies, such as using water efficiently and keeping fresh water clean. But the most interesting fact was that many people became aware of how much water we had been wasting and became active participants by telling, for example, their neigbours they should not water their garden or wash their cars with a hose if they could re-use household water instead. This is a great example of how people, as a committed society, can help preserve the environment by teaching and controlling one another. If we all unite, we can make a big difference.

Every day actions and choices contribute, in the long term, either to pollute even more or to make a better use of and protect resources. Each person, as an inhabitant of this world, should take the problem in their own hands by making "green" choices. There are plenty of ways in which we, as individuals, can contribute to a healthier environment. For instance, choosing the so called Eco-bags made of fabric instead of plastic bags, buying products with little or no packaging to reduce waste, sorting garbage in recycling bins, making efficient use of water by fixing dipping taps or closing them when washing our teeth. These are very easy and practical things we are able to do in order to improve a bit the health of our planet, and in a way, help us too since the globe is our home and we have no other place to go.

In conclusion, pollution is a growing concern since it is already showing devastating consequences such as water shortage and diseases, so it should be actively treated from all the possible levels of human organization and we should also do our share by improving the use of resources in our daily lives.