Pollution and countries development - IELTS - Writing Task 2

development correlation with environmental issues

"Pollution and other environmental problems are resulting from the way that many countries are developing and becoming richer. Some think this cannot be avoided. To what extent do you agree or disagree?" (min 250 world)

In the modern world pollution is a relevant issue that affect both environment and our health. The issue has been largely debated among civilized countries since it is always has been linked to the industrial development. Indeed, some people believe that this is an unavoidable consequence of progress.

On the one hand, it is certainly true that pollution historically increased in countries that have experienced a growth. For instance, the 18th century Industrial Revolution in Europe was remembered not only for the increase of average population income but also for the increase of breathing deseas due to air pollution. Looking at more recent example, China has experienced a double-digit growth in last years but in parallel it has been considered the primary responsible for the ozon hole in the second millenium.

Nevertheless, it is important to not forget what innovation has done for improving the condition of polluted air, water and soil. Indeed, if it is possible now to drive an electric car, to have biodegradable materials or to produce energy with wind it is only thanks to the development in richer countries. Therefore, there are now some countries, such as Norway or Finland, that could be considered among the richest of the world but that register low levels of pollution.

All in all, I believe that even if the past development was always correlated with increasing environmental issues, now it is possible to put in place some actions to this. However, this will be possible only with collaboration among countries already developed and developing countries: the former should made available new technologies to the latter.