IELTS: pollution and traffic growth - higher gas price as the obvious solution?

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree and disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

how to solve pollution and traffic growth issue?

These days, most of the population on earth has their own transportation that make a real contribution in making pollution and traffic growth which are unlikely to be avoided. Some people think increasing gasoline price is the best method to solve those issues. I agree to some extent that it would help to reduce the problems, but it needs to be followed with others methods so that people can see the satisfied result.

Growing traffic is caused by the used of transportation that is getting higher from time to time. The increasing of transportation goes along with the increasing of population. People that can afford buying a new transportation will do that with some various reasons, like getting bored with the old one or wanting to have the newest specification in the transportation they want to buy that they do not have in their old one. In other case, some parents want their children to have their own transportation to make it easier to go somewhere so they buy them one. Having transportation will lead into fuel consumption, therefore increasing gasoline price might be an effective to reduce the problem.

Pollution is one thing that cannot be avoided of transportation. The more transportation is used, the more it pollutes the environment. There is nothing that could reduce this unless the transportation production is limited to some extent. There needs a policy for manufacture industry to limit it into some numbers of production.

Increasing gasoline price might be one of effective ways to reduce growing traffic and pollution problems, but it will not solve it all. In my personal view, it is not the only thing that needs to do because transportation is a necessity for people and they would do everything to fulfill it. It needs to be followed with something, for example a limitation in manufacture industry to produce transportation.