Writing IELTS task 2 - The popularity of mobile phone

benefits and drawbacks OF mobile phones popularity

In today's world, the popularity of mobile phones is a matter of concern to many people. From my point of view, this phenomenon could be both positive and negative.

On the one hand, the mobile phone is one of the most integral parts of a space-aged environment. One of the most frequently used functions of this device is to announce emergency information, which is essential in infectious disease situations. For example, in the Covid-19 situation, the government of Vietnam now encourages citizens to install NCOVI app on their phone in order to update the news related to the outbreak of Coronavirus. That significantly helps the government to reduce the number of COVID-positive people in Vietnam. Therefore, mobile phones are certainly needed in up-to-date society.

On the other hand, the widespread use of this device could bring many negative aspects, especially in education. To put it in another way, the easy access to the Internet of this technology leads to the fact that students use this device to cheat in their exams. According to the new national survey of 2000 middle and high school students in the US, more than a third of teens with cell phones (35 per cent) say they have used their phones at least once to cheat during a test and half (52 per cent) say they have used the Internet to cheat. As a result, the negative impact of this device should not be overlooked.

Given the aforementioned points, it is obvious that the popularity of mobile phones could bring about both benefits and drawbacks to our life. Hence, I would say that this situation is both a positive and negative development.