(IELTS WRITING TASK 2) Population aging: effects and solutions

Nowadays, people are living longer and healthier.

Although it proof that living condition and medicine is better and better, it predict a opposite problem. That is one third of the population will be aged 65 or over and birth rates will decline by the year 2030. What effects will this have on our society?

This problem definitely lead to many negative effects to economic development. Many evidences show that almost assets are owned by elderly people. However, they are getting older and older, their health is more depress too, then cause many complaints: stroke, cancer, diabetes,.. This mean that they have difficulty in working to support their living. So they are forced to depend on other working people and social welfare cost. Gradually, that will become a economic burden on our society.

By 2030, the birth rate will have declined and the percentage of old people will have risen significantly. This means that fewer people will be working, therefore fewer people will be paying income taxis. So it's more difficult for government and enterprises to maintain the pension fund. Younger generation will also need to work much harder to make up this economic shortage. Not only that, population aging also result in labor shortage then affect negatively to economy.

So what can be done now to prevent these problem? First, I believe that government should increase the official retirement age to 70 or even older. Secondly, I think a suitable population policy will make a positive effect, for example encouraging people to have larger families. Finally, goverment should encourage migration from developing countries so that the problems of over-crowding can also be solved.