The Positive and Negative Consequences of Consumerism in Social Life

Nowadays, the demands of goods increase higher and higher because those have lower charge than some years ago and the availability of new products is easy to find in modern or traditional market. This essay will explicate more information about positives and negatives of consumerism.

Low cost of living is one of positive impacts of consumerism due to the higher purchase rates of people the more increasing of their consumption in goods and services, so the manufactures would give cost to their products at lower price to encourage consumers to act. Consumerism also gives a positive impact to open many jobs for job seekers in which the companies that have both good products and popular brand, and want to increase their production, would need more workers to provide the greater demand of consumer.

On the other hand, there are plenty of negative effects of the high consumption action, for instance, the high demand of goods will force manufacturers to use low quality materials to produce more goods in order to gain more profits. In addition, disadvantages because of consumerism will encourage and drive to make purchases in larger amounts, so that is going to create a throw-away culture and more waste.

In conclusion, although consumerism provides several advantages in human life but we also should realise that this activity is a bad habit in our society when we cannot control our desire to have many stuffs.