Writing task 2: positive and negative impacts of robots

robotic engineering

Topic: Some people believe that robots will play an important role in future society, while the others argue that robots might have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Rapid advances in technology have led to a surge of public interest in automation, including robots. While I accept that this field of technology may have its dangers, I believe that the benefits of robotic engineering outweigh the drawbacks.

The negative implications of robots are often discussed in terms of two key areas, which are rising in unemployment and the dependence on robots. The rise of robots has seriously disrupted many areas, resulting in the replacement of existing jobs, especially putting a toll on low-skilled workers. For example, in manufacturing, robots can perform manual tasks more effectively with ease and precipitation than human does, such as raw materials sorting. Another drawback that has to be taken into account is that the present of robots might discourage people from learning some of the basic survival skills. Taking cooking skill for example, a chef robot with the cutting edge of technology could make a well-prepared meal but it, at the same time, posts a problem while the machine itself is out of work.

While the negative impacts are inevitable, there are many positive effects that robots have on human society such as productivity growth and an excessive amount of spare time. If robots are used effectively, they enable company to become productive and competitive on the market. This encourages demand to be increased and boost the economic growth. For instance, a robot can work constantly 24/7 without any break and the feeling of boring, unlike a person, he or she is able to work from 8 to 10 hours a day with several breaks during working hours. Furthermore, by applying robotic engineering in the workplace and other aspects of life, people can have extra time to spend on personal leisure pursuits or try something new, giving a rise to life satisfaction and reduce anxiety.

In conclusion, I am convinced that robots will have a positive impact on our lives, and that people's fears will be unwarranted.