Is it possible for a country to be economically progressive while having a clean environment?

"Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically progressive while having a clean environment at the same time. Some people disagree with this." Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Prosperous countries without pollutions

Many countries around the globe have sacrificed their environment for economic progress. Nevertheless, some people believe that it is possible to become a developed country without harming the nature, others disagree with that. In this essay I will discuss both views as well as give my own opinion of why I think it is possible to progress without polluting and destroying the environment.

First of all, there are hundreds of examples of countries that have become developed without exploitation of natural resources. For example, Singapore is considered a financial capital of Asia even though this country does not have any oil, gas, metals or other resources. It has been able to achieve such significant success by trading and banking.

However, as a counter argument, opponents can provide the United States and China as examples of countries that exchanged their clean environment for wealth and progress. For instance, despite its' economic growth China is suffering from the consequences of industrialization. There is a constant smog in many Chinese cities that exacerbates people's health. Chinese economic boom could not have happened without the usage of coal and other pollutants.

To conclude, there are some examples of countries that successfully developed without polluting the environment. Currently, even countries such and China and the U.S. which are top pollutants are switching to clean energy solutions. It is a responsibility of every country to develop without harming the nature. It is something that can and should be done.