Is it possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment? Ielts

Hi everybody. I hope you guys can check for me and give me feedback. This is my IELTS essay. Have a nice day!!!

environment and prosperity

Topic:

Some people say that it possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. However, others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Answer:

There are different standpoints when it comes to environmental problem. While some people believe that it is virtually impossible for a nation to be successful in both economic and environment, I personally think that is totally feasible.

First, it is understandable why many people are skeptical. In numerous developed countries, the authorities are willingly to make a trade-off that they choose to boost the economy and endure the environmental degradation. This is owing to the inevitable fact that the upsurge of economic corresponds with the increase of the factories, which daily release a huge amount of carbon dioxide emissions and toxic chemicals, which engender natural depletion. In addition, when people are received better facilities, they increasingly become lazy and live a sedentary life. As a substitute of cooking by themselves, people prefer food-miles shipped by motorbikes that produce exhaust fumes which is one of the most significant contributors to global warming.

On the other hand, I argue that it is possible for many countries to obtain the clean environment while still making profits. In many wealthy countries, as well as developing the economy, environmentally-friendly technology is ultimate priority of the government besides achieving economic goals. Switzerland, for instance, enforces the law of requiring wastewater treatment system and emissions filter in all the factories in the country and monitors them closely that play a key role in reaching both environmental and economical success. Furthermore, people in developed countries have the sense of environmental protection. Green movement could be broadened easily if both the national and local authorities have appropriate propaganda campaigns about alleviating environmental problems to the citizens.

In conclusion, I believe despite the fact that there are difficulties to acquire both a clean eco-system and an economical flourish, it is still a reachable goal.