Is it possible to say a lot about person's culture and character from his/her choice of clothes?

Question: Some people say that it is possible to say a lot about person's culture and character from their choice of clothes? Do you agree or disagree?

an outfit of a person means something

Answer:

To a certain extent I agree that custom and tradition can be predicted by one's choice of clothing. However, I also believe that personality of an individual has little or no connection with dressing style.

An attire of a person reflects its cultural and traditional values. Most of the People prefer to follow a particular dress code which is appreciated in their ethnicity. With time they get Comfortable along with it , regardless of time zone and location. For example , Muslim women prefer to wear a veil in order to cover their heads , called as hijab . They embrace this ritual and cultural identity with extreme gratitude and pride , wherever they go. By looking at this unique way of covering, one can perceive about their custom and religion. Hence, culture and way of wearing particular clothes are strongly correlated to each other.

On the other hand, character is a moral and mental thinking of an individual which has no link with a piece of clothing. Personality of a person is completely a distinctive quality.For instance, a group of people living in a community and sharing same pattern of clothing,culture , religion or even sometimes same profession but their characters could not be same . Some among them could be pious and soft hearted in contrast to other stingy and cruel fellow members..In other words, criminals and common men are having similar type of get ups, where as their action and mentality are entirely opposite. On the basis of clothing, it is hardly possible to differentiate these two categories of wrongdoers and innocent people. Therefore, it is apparent that character has no relation with coverings.

To conclude, I partly agree that outfit of a person gives an idea about heritage and customary ways , while nature of a person can not be define by it.