IELTS 2 It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment

It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole.

What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Advancements in all spheres of life have opened new horizons for people. One of these is access to the South Pole and other new destinations for researchers and common people. While it is advantageous as it allows scientists to collect valuable data and give new experiences for tourists, it has drawbacks such as polluting these intact regions.

There are advantages for both scientists and ordinary visitors. For the latter it means more travel destinations, new unforgettable experiences and new photos on their social media accounts. For the former it gives access to unique data sources that can reveal the secrets of our planet. For instance, samples collected from beneath kilometer-thick layers of the Antarctic ice sheet can tell about how Earth looked like billions of years ago. Therefore, the journey there will lead to more scientific discoveries.

The drawback of accessible travel is that people tend to pollute places where they go. Travellers need to bring a lot of clothes, food, and equipment to such remote locations as the South Pole. Most of these things eventually become waste that will end up discarded around the area. While this littering tendency might not be so pronounced for scientists, it is more prevalent in tourism. It has happened before, as previously accessible only to the few bravest and fittest alpinists, Mount Everest is now gathering queues of tourists at its summit. This influx of people has resulted in tonnes of trash scattered around the paths, leaving a heavy footprint on the ecology of this formerly pristine region.

In conclusion, tourists together with scientists now have easier access to remote locations. On the positive side there is plenty of potential for research and leisure experiences there. But it has its disadvantages as people bring pollution with them.