Possible ways to encourage the use of public transport to reduce traffic - IELTS

The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

With globalisation and modern technology encroaching on every corner of the world, it is a well known fact that air pollution and congestion is increasing at an alarming pace. Among the suggestions on how to tackle this problem is encouraging the use of public transportation. This essay will analyse the strategies to encourage public to use trains and buses to commute to work.

To begin with, it is felt that one way to stimulate the use of public transportation is making the use of private cars expensive. For instance, tolls have been introduced successfully in various parts of cities around the world. This example, clearly illustrates the fact that use of private cars on highways are expensive as compared to using the public transportation. Thus, introducing tolls and other taxes on using private car is a good strategy to deter the use people from using private vehicles.

In addition to this, limiting the number of parking permits in urban areas help to dissuade people from using their private vehicles. Take Sydney Metro for instance. Last year, studies revealed that the city experienced sudden decrease in traffic due to 30% hike in price for the parking permits. This clearly illustrate the fact that, increase in price made it inconvenient for the people to use their private cars to travel to cities. Therefore, a price increase in parking permits is a good way to curb the congestion and encourage using public transportation

Following the look, it is clear that by increasing the cost of using the private vehicle is an effective strategy to encourage people using public transportation. Thus, this will help to lessen congestion and air pollution to a certain extent.