IELTS: Potential benefits of zoos overwhelm its pitfalls due to the facts presented below..

Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

For many people, wildlife parks have become common places of spending a free time with friends and family. Although there are some people who argue against zoos, however, others hold an opinion that menageries are advantageous for various reasons. This essay aims to discuss both benefits and drawbacks of them.

On the one hand, animals in zoos are kept in artificial environments (e.g. cages or other sort of limited space). They rely on humans and therefore, loose their both ability and freedom to hunt for food. Another reason is that zoos exhibit animals with the purpose of making money. Some people claim that human beings have no moral right to use animals for entertainment and profit. Moreover, they argue that zoo animals live in unethical places as well.

On the other hand, there are certain benefits of keeping animals in zoos. Firstly, they play an important role in wildlife conservation. To clarify, zoos can help to protect endangered species of animals. Secondly, zoos are educational, interesting and fun. Children, for instance, enjoy learning from animals and hence, menageries can be very useful for them. Moreover, those places allow scientists to study animals and their behavior. Finally, zoological gardens provide many job opportunities, in particular, for local residents.

In conclusion, I believe that the potential benefits of zoos overwhelm its pitfalls due to the fact that they are interesting, educational and fun.