Power-holders in many countries govern several regulations to shelter society from harmful actions

Governments make many rules to protect people from danger, for example, by making people wear seat belts in cars or not allowing smoking in public buildings. However, many people believe that there are too many rules nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Power-holders in many countries govern several regulations to shelter the society from harmful actions, such us rules-related to safety driving, or prohibit people to smoking in public places. On the other hand, many people believe that the enforcement of many rules make people's life become harder and far from freedom. Although it is true, I do believe that the action of government is really useful to people's life.

People nowadays tend to have negative perception to government and police department due to new regulations which make them feeling restricted. For instance, recent years, there is an increasing in the number of crime rate related to defamation in social media. It led to the implementation of several new rules which involves fines and imprisonment for internet user who commit acts of bullying, insults, or stealing personal information. As a result, this rule has received criticism from people who considers that this rule violates basic human right, which is the freedom of speech and expression.

Government and policymakers see this matter in different perspective. I would argue that they intended to make many regulations because the welfare and the safety of communities is their main goal, so that it is expected will protect them from complicated problems. For instance, police warn people to use seat belt while driving. Basically, this aimed to protect drivers from collision, if they experienced unavoidable accident during their journeys. Not only this, government also prohibit the smokers to smoke in public area because of the smoke is very harmful to health condition of secondhand smokers, particularly for pregnant women. To support this regulation, local government constructs smoking rooms in several points in town.

To conclude, although some regulations sometimes make people feeling restricted, I firmly agree that government have good intention with this regulation. However, they need to socialize the new regulation to society, so they will fully understand about this regulation.