The Power of Negative Thinking by Tomas Chamorro-premuzic

Dr Tomas is a psychologist who carried out research or almost a decade between people's perception on their abilities and their true abilities to do something in 40 nations across the world. Interestingly, he found there were least relations between confidence and competent. He also pointed out that up to 70% of people is overconfidence. There are two personal benefits of being overconfidence based on recent psychology publications and motivation books. First, it is feel good for people to imagine themselves as an outstanding person and secondly, these misconception may useful to help others.

However, Dr Tomas revealed that there are several dire effects of overconfidence such as gamblers and people who miscalculate their ability to pay loans and mortgage. Overconfidence has also linked to several health problems such as people with obesity issue or their addiction on smoking and drinking. Thus, his solution is that people need to maintain their low confidence for the personal advantages and for other's benefit. He added that low confidence is essential factor for people to remains humble and it is also shows their willingness to accept suggestions.