IELTS Task 2: Power sources to cities and transports that are generated from fossil fuels

Alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport.

To what extent do yo agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Power sources to cities and transports that are generated from fossil fuels such as; the coal, oil and gas are converted to renewable energies which use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun. This process, producing the power of the alternative energy, needs a costing so much and is too complex. However, my view is that using the renewable energies give many benefits outweigh drawbacks to citizens such as a reduction of global warming emissions.

First, the process to generate the electric energies from the fossil fuels spend cost extremely and is so complex. This process needs so much budgets since it utilize a new technology which has extremely large capital cost. To illustrate, a country which wants to build solar energy stations spends the budgets highly to supplying devices: photovoltaics (PV), tracking systems, loads, and storage integration, grid monitors, and power electronics. After that, the process to produce the electric energies is extreme complex because the renewable energies often rely on weathers such as wind turbines which need the wind to turn blades.

However, I have a perspective that budgets to this process is unbalanced with many benefits which will be gained by the citizens. A increasing the supply of the renewable energy will allow the citizens to reduce the global warming emissions significantly. Based on research of Department of Energy's National in America, a 2009 UCS analysis finds that a 25 percent of renewable electricity standard will lower emissions by 277 million metric tons annually in 2025. In addition, facilities to produce renewable energy generally require less maintenance than the fossil fuels. This energy use the natural and available resource so that it reduces the costs of operation. For example, solar collectors need the sunshine to collect heat and make the electricity.

In conclusion, I fully disagree that the cost of using fossil fuels is so expensive. The renewable energy highly contributes the citizens' activities. I guess that the government in all countries should begin to consider using it.