IELTS writing task 2 - the power of spoken communication

the appropriate way of expressing our ideas

Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

Spoken communication could be powerful in some situation, while written communication could also be influential in some cases.

At most of the time, spoken communication could be more efficient and lively. First, oral communication could convey the message to the maximum number of people in the short period of time. When a president or politician gives a speech, they will definitely use oral communication, and broadcasted live to the citizens.

In addition, spoken communication is lively and could be contagious. When people wanted to express their emotions, speaking directly to others could make people understand your words, read your body language and facial expression. They could not only get the verbal meanings but also could read between the lines and know your underlying message.

On the other hand, written communication could be formal and well documented. For example, when one undergo a purchase procedure, both buyer and seller are required to keep a paper written contract. There are several reasons that written communication is powerful in this situation. First, legal evidence is available due to safekeeping the record. Second, referring the message will be easy and convincible. Finally, the chance of misinterpretation of message is very less, because the words are carefully chosen. Therefore, written communication is a formal communication, which is used in schools, college and business world.

In conclusion, both method of communication are powerful in some cases, people should choose the appropriate way expressing our idea at the certain moments.