IELTS Writing Task2 - Why ppl try to find out the history of their family? Positive trend?

family history researches are popular nowadays

In recent decades, more people are curios about the history of their family. Who were their ancestors? What did they do? These questions make them try to find out the root of their family.

Despite difficulties, there are several reasons why they do that. Firstly, a lot of people try to find their long-lost family member for a reunion. For instance, many people try to look for the location where their relatives, who joined in wars, were buried and bring back to the homeland to be with their ancestors. Secondly, some with a special first name like "Dao", they may want to know if their root related to the royalty or some celebrities. Thirdly, others want to find out the information of their relatives about some genetic diseases in the past.

With these reasons above, this can be considered as a positive development. People are anle to uphold the family traditions, prevent some diseases and so on. However, there is still a drawback. Some are obsessed with the past and forget the present and his or her future. Also, it costs a huge amount of money.

In conclusion, finding the history of the family is a good trend for the young to remember their ancestors. An author used to say: " The further you can look in the past, the further you can see in the future".