IELTS writing practice task 2 academic - Modern technology

Question: Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information.

Far from being beneficial, this is a danger to our society.

What are your views?

Task: Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Modern technology and information exchange

In this technological era, rapid development of new technology has made our personal information being revealed easily. News headlines such as " A 25-year-olds lady lost $2000000 through her bank account, which is believed to be due to personal information disclosure." can often be seen. It is therefore my strong conviction that the advanced technology would bring more harm than good to our society.

My stance could be attributed to two main reasons. The first point to be noted is that the users of the devices are anonymous. They could simply get access to our personal accounts and plagiarize our information by their sophisticated computing skills. In fact, we, however, know nothing about who are "reading our minds", let alone finding out that there is even a guy screening our information. For instance, the Americans were shocked that all of their messages sent and received and calls they made have constantly been recorded. Despite not committing any crime, we would still find this offensive. Our "data" should be respected and privately protected, but not stolen and supervised.

Apart from the unknown stealers, the enhanced technology may also give rise to fights and wars.Undeniably, food, oil, land, fame, and fortune are all we would compete for, competitions therefore arise within individuals and groups. We would figure out the weaknesses of our opponents through accessing to their Intranet in a bid to triumph in the battles. Take China as an example. Countries begin to be aware of her as Chinese may have been behind the WannaCry ransomware, which may attack them soon. Thus, I am still in favor of the view that the fast-developing technology would adversely affect social harmony.

Judging from the above, it is obvious that permitting our information to be exchanged uncontrollably is not a good thing to our society.