Practice IELTS Writing Task 2 - Benefit and Drawback of Computer Games

Computer games yield more tremendous benefits, but also have obvious drawbacks for children. Do you agree or disagree?

computer games influence children

In globalization era, the use of advance technology spreads to all aged society. Video games are one of cutting-edge technologies in kids circle. Advertisers believe that these virtual games have many advantages for children's brain. Personally, I support this statement because several games in computer can increase children's intelligence and reduce stress level. On the other hand, I believe that parents should limit playing time of children in computer as it can affect kids' health and social life.

It is clear that sophisticated technology brings many beneficial impacts. Inventors discover variety of games that can upgrade memory capacity of children's brain. A 2016 Journal of Neuroscience released that people under 18 years old who played digital games can do better assignments than the other. Their output of brain-check up also showed that they have well balanced between right and left brain. Not only this, the rise in study time at school massively impacts on the number of children getting stress. The 2014 Jakarta Post wrote that in China, playing online game could decrease to 25% amount of anxiety level that is caused by task demands at school.

Parents have the essential roles in controlling activity of children. More playing games bring negative impacts on kids. Games addicted cause disturbance of health, such as gastritis and eye diseases. A 2015 BBC News reported that 23th young man was found in his bedroom in death condition. He was found with a stick game in his hand. The police assumed that he passed away because of playing games too much without eating or drinking. In addition, social life of kids can also disappear because of playing games. The Asian Journal represented that in 2013 45% children in Japan did not know name of their neighbors. They were busy with their virtual games.

To sum up, I agree that computer games influence children in positive and negative impacts. By playing video games, children's capability can elevate and their anxiety can reduce. Restriction of playing time should be regulated to protect kids from disease and lost in social life.