IELTS practice----Long distance flight should be banned or not?

Long distance flight consumes natural resources and pollutes the air. Some people think it should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

While an increasing number people are having access to air travel, the detrimental effect flight has on the natural environment is drawing some individuals' attention. Because of this, they argue that air trips should be prohibited. However, I believe flight is still an integral part of people's life.

Admittedly, air travel is, to some extent, damaging to the environment. As a modern means of transportation, airplane has adequate space to hold up to 50 passengers, which requires a vast amount of fuel to operate. As a result, it may cause pollution to the air after taking off. Besides, creating the source of energy for planes to work is at the expense of depleting natural resources, which is harmful to the ecological balance.

Even so, the unique benefits air travel holds, I believe, outweigh its drawbacks. Flight is, doubtless, the most efficient way for people to transfer from one place to another, especially for long distance. For instance, it takes only 2 hours or so from Guangzhou to Beijing while people have to spend 20 hours by train for the same distance, which is more time-consuming. In fact, as the pace of life is accelerating, time is increasingly precious for people in modern society, which means flight is a necessity when people opt for their means of transportation.

Additionally, air travel provides a comfortable and enjoyable trip for passengers. As people are available to exquisite snacks and drinks, stimulating films and beautiful stewardess's service during flight, they regard air travel as an enjoyment and relaxation. As a result, air trips enrich people's life. Without flight, individuals would find the long distance trip monotonous and even miserable.

Therefore, I would conclude that we should, by no means, put ban on the air travel only due to the fact that it may damage the environment. In fact, people benefit a great deal from flight in terms of efficiency and enjoyment. But I would suggest the public raise awareness of flight's negative environmental influence and promote new technological development to relieve this bad consequence.