Do you prefer to start working on a presentation you'll have next month or postpone it to last days?

Studying at university is not just about becoming professional in one major but also about to learn how to bring new ideas, to develop them and to present them properly to the others. Presenting one's ideas and research results appropriately is one of important aspects of academic experience. Both undergraduate and graduate students have to deal with several lectures during their school days. Preparing a presentation is not a simple task. It is a time consuming task that some students spare a long period of time to deal with it while the other do it in few days. I as a graduate student am one of the first group, the ones that if they were to deliver a lecture one month later, would not hesitate and start to prepare it right immediately. In this way, I would have enough time to prepare myself for lecture and do handle the whole procedure calmly and with less stress.

Arranging a presentation has several steps such as gathering adequate information about subject or idea, selecting parts of information that portray the subject in best way, revising the presentation and practicing the lecture situation, which all of them are time consuming and have equal importance. One can say that, all of these steps can be completed in few days with more concentration, but based on my own experience, in situations that the student faces time shortage, most of his or her attention is on collecting sufficient data to cover all aspects of lecture and their assortment and less time is spent to revise and prepare for oral presentation. One should know a brilliant idea can suffer severely from weak verbal as well as small mistakes which can be eliminated easily, but it remains in presentation, since time shortage.

To convey the subject in an excellent fashion, the one who present it should be calm and tranquil. hence not being stressful or exhausted are important factors in delivering a lecture. The status of presenter such as not having sound vibration caused by stress influence the overall quality of that lecture. Making a lecture ready in last days before deadline can make the presenter exhausted and bring him or her more tension in comparison to put it together in a longer period of time.

In summary, initiation of presentation a month before its deadline can prevent pressure on the lecturer and provide plenty of time to collect information, choose parts of data that best presents the idea, correct probable inaccuracies and practice oral presentation. Giving a professional talk is an important facet of academic life, no matter the lecturer is an experienced professor or an undergraduate student in his or her first years of study, and it should not be underestimated.