[TOEFL] Which do you prefer, traveling with a companion or alone?

prompt:

Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

I Prefer to Travel with a Companion

In this busy world filled with hectic activities, tourism is more popular than ever, and everyone has their own style of travel. Some people prefer to travel with a companion while other people like to travel alone. Although traveling alone could experience the city deeply and have more freedom, personally, I believe that traveling with a companion is better. When you travel with a partner, you can get help when you need, save your money, and have more fun.

First of all, you are safer and less concerned about occasional troubles. In an unfamiliar city, you might get lost, miss the bus station, or run into an accident etc.

I went to Melbourne with a friend when I was in junior high school. We once visited a museum. However, we lost the way to return the hotel at the end of the day. I always do not have the sense of direction. So I was so nervous that my mind went blank. Fortunately, my friend was calm and brave. She checked the map, asked strangers nearby, and finally brought us back to the hotel. Everyone wants sincere help when he has problems during a trip.

Moreover, it is more economical to travel with a companion. Money is a very big problem. In a tour, you have many things must do except seeing the spectacular landscape, such as booking hotel rooms and buying tickets. You are able to share a room and discount tickets with your partner as long as you travel together. On the other hand, if you travel alone, you should afford the trip by yourself. To have a companion is beneficial because you can save money on transportation, accommodations, and tickets. And that may even let you travel more days than you originally have planned.

Beyond those reasons mentioned above, you could share joy and laughter with your companion on the journey. It is believed that joy shared with others are more enjoyed. For instance, when you see a breathtaking sunrise on Ali mountain, you can not only take a photography about the view but also share your happiness with your partner.

To sum up, I prefer traveling with a companion to make a journey alone due to the reasons about security, expense, and pleasure.