TOEFL:At present we rely on oil for most our energy needs!

At present we rely on oil for most our energy needs. However,oil is a fossil fuel and causes air pollution,and it will eventually run out. Nuclear energy is the only practical and clean source of energy for the world. In what extent do you agree or disagree?

Oil is a fossil fuel,which is one of the major sources of energy we are

using. Although oil is cheap and easy to use, using it can cause air

pollution and it sooner or later will be exhausted. The question is that is

there a practical,powerful and clean source of energy for the world?

Nuclear energy would be the best answer to this. There is however a

debate on using nuclear energy. In my point of view, it can't be denied

that nuclear energy has some benefits but it seems leave more negative

effects than positive ones.

First of all, nuclear energy is cleaner than oil.coal.gas,etc because it

produces no smoke,emmision, which we may inhale when we use fossil

fuels. Smoke from oil,coal,gas can lead to air pollution and some diseases

such as lung cancer,bronchitist,ashmas,etc. That's why it is obviously

healthier to use nuclear energy. Adding to this, nuclear energy is

surprisingly efficient.For example, a nuclear power factory can provide

energy to the Earth using within 2 years.

Besides some advantages above, nuclear nergy has numerous

disadvantages. Firstly,using nuclear energy is very very dangerous

because reactors produce nuclear waste products emitting

dangerous radiation,,which is extremely harmful for the body and can

cause death. In case there's a mistake made by human or technology, it

can lead to unexpected horrible accidents, which may distroy the whole

country using it or more than that. For instance,in 1957,nuclear wastes

buried at a dump site in Russia's Ural Mountains, near Moscow,

mysteriously exploded and caused the death of dozens of people.

Secondly, nuclear energy encourage nuclear weapon race,which

may threat to the peace since its devastation is unexpected large,

destroying not only contries taking part in war but other countries as well.

In addititon, nuclear energy is so expensive that not every country can use

it. It costs a lot of money and requires modern technology. Lastly, there's

lots of other source of energy can replace nuclear energy such as wind

energy,solar energy, water energy,etc which are avalable,environmental

friendly and more importanly they are unlimited.

To sum up, despite advantages from nuclear energy, using it is still too

dangerous. We should limit to use it or if we use it,we have to be very

careful. There's lots of other sources of energy which are clean

powerful too we can use instead of nuclear energy.