Preserve old buildings whenever possible or construct new buildings

restoring or replacing old buildings?

In the present day, modern buildings are more popular than ever, because of that reason old buildings now have very little value. Some people begin to think that it is good to preserve old buildings whenever possible. Other people think that it is preferable to construct new buildings. Both ideas all have their advantages and disadvantages.

In the first opinion, old buildings can be used for tourism, especially sightseeing. By exploring old structures we know more about our past, and it's also a good way to remind us about our culture. To illustrate, most of the results in many researches by historians, were found by investigating aged houses. At those places they figured out many vestiges about ancient generations. Thus, unmodern houses may not contain many stayable values but they have a lot of historical values. But besides that, they might waste too many places and money, which can be used to build modern buildings, the ones that really have physical values.

On the other hand, the advantages of constructing new buildings is undeniable, they bring us a convenient, modern place. Present-day structures compare with earlier versions are more secure, steady and harder to decay. For instance, in the past the durability of old houses helped them be undestroyable by natural factors for 5 years, now a modern house can stand for 10 years. Contrasting with old buildings, new buildings have more physical use but less spiritual benefits.In the past, when globalization hadn't happened yet, every country had their own type of architecture, dissimilar features. But the world is different now, people always want the best version, so buildings are more and more similar. If we just focus on building new things, our traditional values will sink into oblivion over time.

In conclusion, preserving old buildings have many immaterial meanings but nearly have no practical use and the benefits and drawbacks in constructing new buildings is converse. From my standpoint, whatever it is, conserving old things or building new things, the most important thing is we have to balance it, so that we not only can develop our architecture, but also maintain our traditional culture.