IELTS WRITING TASK 2: PRESERVING WILD ANIMALS IS VERY IMPORTANT

Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

MONEY FOR WILDLIFE PROTECTION

Despite more animals are under major threat due to human, some people think that it is a waste of time, effort and money to protect wild animals because they are of no use to human. I completely disagree with this opinion.

It appears to me that wild animals have contributed substantially to the ecosystem and human's life. Wild animals are a crucial part of a healthy ecosystem, because each animal has a unique place in the natural food chain. If an animal dies out, it will disturb the whole food chain and lead to disastrous consequences. For instance, as a result of large carnivores being poached, herbivores, which have no predators, will soar in number and move to agricultural lands to meet their growing food demand. In addition, for aesthetic values, wild animals beautify the Earth and their natural attractiveness has captured numerous people's heart, as shown in human's interest in wildlife safaris worldwide.

Because of their importance, in my opinion, it is not wasteful to spend national budget on protecting wild animals. One way of saving wild animals is preserving their natural habitats, which are also essential to human's survival. For example, forests, which are home to plenty of wild animals, help human prevent soil erosion and flooding as well as regulate the Earth's climate. Another method is building more wildlife sanctuaries, which provide not only a safe, secure environment for endangered species but also an attraction for nature lovers and a source of income for localities.

In conclusion, wildlife plays a great role in human's life, therefore it should be preserved.