Prevention: The Only Solution To Our Health Problems

prevention is better than cure

IELTS Writing Task 2

The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Answer

As for health issues, some people argue that prevention is better than cure, so governments should allocate more funds on preventive measures. Personally, I strongly agree with these views.

One of the primary cause is that prevention is the only way to dealing with many diseases for which no cure has been found. The concept of prevention represents opportunities to avoid many diseases if we take proactive steps before a problem forms. For many uncurable diseases like tobacco-related cancer, patients have to count down the rest of their life when receiving the result of a cancer diagnosis. In this regard, research shows that smoking makes cancers more likely, so doctors urge people to stop is an indispensable step to help them prevent it. Thus, perhaps prevention plays more significant impacts for many incurable diseases.

Apart from the argument above, I also believe that it is realistic that government spend more funds on the prevention than the cure. Medical system using public funding is impossible to afford all people's demands concerning treatment and medicine. It is costly to buy effective drugs, and facilities and equipment also come at a massive cost to the government. By contrast, it is manifestly cheap that governments spend money on launching campaigns to encourage a healthy lifestyle, including a balanced diet and regular exercise. So there are manifested benefits to government spending on prevention.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that influence by prevention is higher than cure. Therefore, there are reasonable arguments that require more funs on the prevention.