IELTS; Can price hikes on fuel solve environmental problems?

The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems are rapidly increasing all over the world. Scientists infer that this is due to burning of fuel such as petrol, coal and gas etc. Some people think that the use of fuel can be controlled by increasing its price whereas others believe that the threats to the environment can be controlled by introducing other sources of energy and supporting researchers for their environmental problems research. In the following essay I would look at both sides of the argument and provide my opinion in light of the results.

The people who consider increase in fuel price is the solution of environment pollution give reason that this will cut down the use of cars. As most of the people prefer to use their personal vehicles to for travelling and increase in fuel price will force them to stop using them. Moreover this will motivate them to use public transports for daily travelling to work and other places. As a result, there may be a large reduction in the number of cars on road, so this this will help to lower the air pollution.

The supporters of the other side of argument, however, argue that instead of increasing fuel prices other actions should be considered to minimize environmental issues. Both government and individual must take it seriously. Individuals should buy the cars which emit less fumes. At government level, the authorities should educate people to use other sources of energy; for example light energy and water energy to generate electricity instead of coal, patrol or other kinds of fuels. Moreover they should support researchers in finding other ways of minimizing impacts of fuel burning on our environment. The research for running vehicles on other resources such as water and solar kits must be funded. By doing so, the threats to our environment can be reduced.

In conclusion, I believe that we should look for other ways to reduce environmental pollution caused by fuel instead of increasing prices of it.

_____________________

Hi guys

I would appreciate your time and efforts if you could comment on my essay.