Print and electronic media feeding us with information

Topic It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

In recent years the media, both print and electronic, has developed immensely. It is a form of communication which is feeding us with information from all corners of the world and not only that it is a form of entertainment as well. These are the main reasons that are causing the media to penetrate into our lives. Although, media has many advantages but at the same time it has certain drawbacks as well. In my opinion their are more disadvantages of living in a media rich society rather than its good effects.

The first detrimental effect of the media is that it is the major source of violence among the youth. Children watch violent sports like wrestling, watch violent and horror movies and the aftermath of such shows is that children try to do the same acts as done by their heroes and can seriously harm them selves and their fellow children too. Furthermore, now on television their are large number of channel options are available. Children come home from school and sit down in front of the television, hardly involve in physical activities or participate into face-to-face communication or share virtual and non virtual information. This lack of socialism can seriously affect a child's' confidence and communication skills.

The other equally important factor is that in the newspapers, on websites and during a television show too many advertisements are being shown, trying to convince the public to buy their products even if they do not need it. Many people too get attracted by these ads and waste their money on non competitive things.

However, their are few people who consider media's influence beneficial. They claim that media can be auxiliary while making decisions about many aspects of life, like politics. Through media different people give different opinions, giving us choice to decide what is right for us. In addition, internet has made the research process so efficient and simple that we cannot think of redeeming ourselves from this form of media.

To sum up, I concede that the influence of media can be effective in many ways but it is causing many harmful effects as well at an alarming rate. We are are living in 21st century where we are completely dependent on the media and we cannot remove it from our daily routines. The best way to control its influence is to limit its use.