IELTS Task 2: Printed newspaper vs Online newspaper. What will be more important?

Internet or printed news?

Some people think that in the future, printed newspaper will still be the most important source of news. However, others think that news provided on the Internet will play the most important role. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

These days, opinions differ as to whether Internet or printed news will be the most crucial source of news. Some people believe printed format will retain its significance, while others think it will gradually be replaced by online news. From my standpoint, I tend to agree with the latter.

It is understandable why people believe in the importance of printed format. The publishing industry has existed for hundreds of years employing millions of personnels all around the world. It is often depicted as "too big to fall" as the failure of such may leave some detrimental effects on any national economy. Besides, reading daily newspaper has so long been established as a die-hard habit for some. Such people adhere to the traditional form of news as they gain the distinctive joice flipping through the pages.

However, I strongly believe it's the online news that makes the future of journalism. The speed of Internet is undeniably faster than ever before, facilitating live-stream coverage of sport events and music concerts. Moreover, the online multimedia platform equips journalists with ample ways to report news such as: infographics, animated videos or interactive discussion. Those creative methods can never be feasible on a printed format. Another reason to reinforce to the growth of online news is our over-reliant on the Internet. It is not an exxageration to say that we have been so inexorably linked to the Internet that it is hard to live without it. Online articles, news that spread through various platform of the Internet, will surely benefit from this trend.

In conclusion, although there are evidences to suggest traditional newspaper is still favoured, I strongly believe online format will be the most important source of news in the future.