IELTS Writing Task 2: Printed vs Online Newspapers and Books - support your opinion

In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, following the advent of the Internet, online newspapers and E-books have become more prevalent and widespread than ever. It is commonly speculated that they will eventually take over traditional printed books and newspapers. In this essay, I will give my opinion on why I think such a scenario is not possible.

It is undeniable that online newspapers and books are free, and so they are available for everyone. In addition, they are more accessible, as it is easier to take out your mobile phone and read on the go.

However, anything that is cheap comes with an expensive cost. Online newspapers may, at times, turn out to be poor quality and nothing of more value than a tabloid. It therefore takes a lot more effort to find a good digital newspaper than to buy a printed one. E-books require electronic reader devices in order to read comfortably, though they are not only pricey, but prone to break as well. Second of all, buying printed newspapers and books help directly support the writer or the author that they love, while digital ones do not really create any connection between the writer and the reader. Last but not least, printed copies of newspapers and books give people a sense of belonging and attachment, which the online counterpart clearly lacks.

In conclusion, while there are certain benefits to digital books and newspapers, I believe that in the future, printed ones will still be used as widely if not more than today.