Why many prisoners commit crimes as soon as they released? - IELTS WRITING TASK 2

Topic:

Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison.

What do you think are the causes of this?

Response:

Many prisons turn over a new leaf after they released from prison; nevertheless, not all the case are true. Some criminals commit crimes as soon as they get out of prison, and personally, I believe there are reasons to justify this.

Firstly, it is people's prejudice that indirectly make those prisoners give up the idea of re-integrating. Back to the past, criminals were considered a threat to the society, and undoubtedly, people tended to distance themselves from prisoners. That presumption had rooted deeply inside people's mind and made them turn their back at people who commit crimes, even if he or she is only a little thief. As a result, these released prisoners no longer feel they are parts of the society anymore, instead, they feel left-out and abandoned. Without the warm welcoming and the sympathy of the society, these prisoners find no incentive in changing for the better since all of their efforts would meet with negligence and underappreciation.

Secondly, our society lacks of job opportunity for the prisoners. After coming out of prison, a job is of the utmost importance on the grounds that offers the prisoners stable incomes to live by and makes them feel that they have values to the society. However, finding a proper job is a challenge to every prisoner since their crimes are often regarded as acts of fraudulence and untrustworthiness. Clearly, no employers would like to take on these people in their working places. Struggling to find a job, most released prisoners would end up facing financial difficulties. Eventually, they would resort to committing crimes in order to make some money.

In conclusion, reasons why many prisoners commit crimes right after being released could be put down to people's prejudice and the lack of job opportunity for the return criminals.