In 1985, privately owned housing stood at more than a half in the total of 22 million homes in U.K.

A change in the percentages of housing owned and rented in United Kingdom is illustrated by the pie charts, measured by the figure of proportion in a 20-year period from 1985 to 2005.

In 1985, privately housing owned stood at more than a half in the total of 22 million homes in U.K. There was a dramatical increase to virtually a third of quarter over 27 million homes in 2005. Nevertheless, social housing has a small proportion of house in 1985. It had a gradual increase over a 20-year period, but by any measure, social home still became the minority of total house in United Kingdom.

However, the number of percentage for council rented had more than a quarter. This was the second highest percentage housing after privately owned house. But over a 2-decade period, it was a significant dropped to less than a quarter in 2005. For privately rented, it remained steadily over 20 years was the steady percentages from 1985 to 2005. Privately rented and council rented was the second highest percentages after privately owned in 2005.

Overall, Privately owned was the biggest proportion housing in United Kingdom, which was no one can break the record over 2 decades. While social housing had increased, privately rented was remained steadily, but the council rented had a significant decrease within the period.