IELTS TASK2: Problem and Solution: ATTENTION IN CLASS

Topic:

Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school

What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

It is true that there have been more students having difficulty staying focused in school in recent years. This issue stems from a number of causes from which several effects will be outlined in this essay.

There are two primary reasons for why unfocused students have become commonplace. The main problem is electronic devices consumption inside classes. This is because of notifications from applications , students get distracted to check the phone for text messages and even play games when they feel bored in class. As a result, the grade of students using phones during class is lower than those who do not. Similarly, the outdated and rigid teaching method is considered a main culprit. The fact that students often learn in a one-way teaching environment causing boredom and losing attention in the class.

Some feasible solutions can be implemented to remedy this pressing issue. Firstly, teachers should be active in class. For instance, teachers can walk around the classroom while teaching, thus students will have less opportunity to use their phone or allow students to use educational learning applications. Another measure worth mentioning is that schools should apply different teaching methods to the student's curriculum. As an example, since the internet is full of high quality material related to the courses, students can do a research paper on the lesson through the internet and with the help of the teachers.

In conclusion, cell phone consumption and old teaching methods are two main reasons for why many students pay less attention to their lessons at school, however, this problem can be solved by changing the way in teaching.